Pawel Pawlikowski in the jury of the International Competition at the 43rd Short Film Festival

Pawel Pawlikowski

The Drama Film Festival’s Artistic Director, Yannis Sakaridis, is delighted to announce that Oscar-winning Polish director Pawel Pawlikowski will be a member of the jury of the International Competition at the 43rd Short Film Festival.

Pawel Pawlikowski

Pawel Pawlikowski

The internationally acclaimed creator’s film “Ida” won the 2015 Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film, five European Film Academy Awards, one BAFTA and a Goya Award. His film “Cold War”, which premiered at the 2018 Cannes Film Festival, won him the Best Director Prize. Amongst others, the film earned three nominations at the Academy Awards (Best Foreign Language Film, Best Achievement in Directing, and Best Achievement in Cinematography).

Our team is looking forward to welcoming him to the Festival.

The renowned director will take part in an open discussion on his last film, “Cold War”, moderated in Drama by cinematherapist Denise Nikolakou. The film serves as a springboard for the audience to understand the value and function of cinematherapy, and the manner in which we can process cinematic works in order to garner therapeutic elements. The Drama Film Festival is hosting this project for the first time, aiming to highlight the psychotherapeutic effect a film can have on the viewer.


Pawel Pawlikowski will be accompanied in the International Competition’s jury by actress Themis Bazaka, director Lefteris Charitos, author Lena Divani, and director Stergios Paschos.

Pawel Pawlikowski

As previously announced, the Chairman of the National Competition jury is director Argyris Papadimitropoulos.
The other members are: Actor Yannis Stankoglou, set and costume designer Alexia Theodoraki, director Evi Kalogiropoulou, and actor Romanna Lobach.

Pawel Pawlikowski

In the newly-established International Student Competition, the jury consists of: Journalist Aleandros Diakosavvas, directing duo Lida Varzioti & Dimitris Tsakaleas, and screenwriter/director Alki Politi.

Pawel Pawlikowski


This year we are announcing some changes to the Festival Awards:

As a tribute to beloved set and costume designer Ioulia Stavridou, who left us so unjustly, the Festival is naming a new award after her: Honorary Distinction for Costume Design “Ioulia Stavridou”.

Four new (monetary) prizes by the Greek Film Centre are added to the categories Golden Dionysos, screenplay, direction, and documentary.

Lastly, the “Dinos Katsouridis” award is reallocated to the International Student Competition to support participating Greeks and give incentive for their next project.



Grand Prix
The award is accompanied by a prize of, 4,000 euro, offered by Raycap.

Award for Best Direction

Nomination EFA short films Awards 2020

Special award for Best ProductionTV5 MONDE

Best Southeastern European Film Award

Best Animation Film Award

#ThisisEU- European Values


“Human Values” Award of the Hellenic Parliament

Special Award “Environment & Climate Change”,
offered by “Cyclops”


Golden Dionysos 2020
The award is accompanied by the following cash prizes:
€4,000, offered by Finos Film
€3,000, offered by ERT
€2,000, offered by the Greek Film Centre

Tonia Marketaki Award for Best Director
The award is accompanied by:
Lab provisions and post production services to the value of €2,500, offered by Stefilm and a cash prize of €3,500, offered by the Greek Film Centre.

Documentary Award
The award is accompanied by:
A €1,000 cash prize offered by ERT
and €3,500 offered by the Greek Film Centre.

Best Screenplay Award
Accompanied by a cash prize of €3,500, offered by the Greek Film Centre.

Honorary Distinction for Costume Design “Ioulia Stavridou”
Accompanied by:
A cash prize of €2,500, offered by TRIANON Cinema and a sponsorship by the Greek fashion firm ENJOY, which will provide clothing for the costume designer’s next film.

Best Cinematography Honorary Distinction

Honorary Distinction for Actor in a Leading Role

Honorary Distinction for Actress in a Leading Role



Special Jury Award “Rising Star”

“Dinos Katsouridis” Award
Automatically awarded to Greek students in the competition, as incentive for their next project. Prize: Complete technical coverage of the production of their next film.


«PITCHING LAB» Finos Film Award
The Finos Film Award for best project is accompanied by a cash prize of €2,000.

«PITCHING LAB» Authorwave Award
Accompanied by post production services (DCP)